Town Government

Stokesdale Town Council
                                                                             Mayor - John Flynt             Thearon Hooks, Jr. - Mayor Pro Tem 
                                                     Frank Bruno                   William N. Jones "Bill"                     Tim Jones  

     Name                                       Address                                     Contact Numbers                               Term

     William N. Jones, Jr.                8002 Dorsett Downs Dr                (336) 643-5803                          2015-2019
                                                            Stokesdale, NC  27357       

    John F lynt                                                                                             336-687-6019                              2017-2021

     Frank Bruno                              7676 Anthony Rd                           (336) 337-8473                             2015-2019
                                                           Kernersville, NC  27284     

      Tim Jones                                   PO Box 95                                        (336)643-4011                             2015-2019
                                                            Stokesdale, NC  27357        

    Thearon Hooks, Jr.                                                                              (336) 601-2383
                                                                                                                      2017 - 2021

The Town of Stokesdale is served by a Mayor  and four Council members.  The Town Council meets on the second Thursday of each month at 7:00 PM in the Stokesdale Town Hall located at 8325 Angel Pardue Road.

The Town Charter of the Town of Stokesdale specifies that the Town will operate under the mayor-council plan as provided in Part 3 of Article 7 of Chapter 160A of the General Statutes of North Carolina. 

Initially, elections were held every two years with the terms being staggered so that two positions were  filled at one election and three positions being filled at the subsequent election. Council members serve four-year terms of office.    After a referendum election on November 2, 2004, the Town charter was amended to require the election of the Town Mayor by holding mayoral elections every four years.   Pursuant to the Town charter change, one of the five council members seats became the mayor seat.  At the  regular 2005 election, one mayor and one council member was elected.  The person receiving the highest number of votes for the mayor seat was elected mayor for a four-year term.  The person receiving the highest number of votes for the council member seat was elected for a four -year term.